If you are a contractor doing construction work of any kind then you must be in compliance with the contractor licensing requirements for the State of Louisiana. Being an unlicensed contractor puts you at significant risk of losing significant amounts money. Without the proper construction licenses you may not even be able to enforce your construction contract to get paid after doing the work.

Here at Smiley Law Group, we want to make things easier for you. Contractor licensing laws and regulations in Louisiana can be complex and confusing. While consulting with a knowledgeable and experienced construction attorney about your Louisiana construction licensing needs will best ensure compliance, this short guide should help you to get a better idea of what your needs might be.

Louisiana Contractors Licensing Laws: The Different Kinds of Licenses

Licenses are required in Louisiana for any commercial building that costs $50,000 or more. Contractors need a license for residential building that exceeds $75,000. Home improvement contractors need a license for any services between $7,500 and $75,000. These licenses are typically valid for 1-year, with renewal terms of one, two or three years.

Under section 2156.1 of the Louisiana Contractor Licensing Laws, ten classifications of construction work are listed that you may choose to apply for in the license:

  1. Building construction.
  2. Highway, street and bridge construction.
  3. Heavy construction.
  4. Municipal and public works construction.
  5. Electrical work.
  6. Mechanical work.
  7. Plumbing work.
  8. Hazardous materials.
  9. Specialty classification.
  10. Residential construction.

There are numerous sub classifications under each of these major headings that you can apply for in obtaining your licenses. For example, if you are applying for a “building construction” license then you may also need to obtain permission to do acoustical treatments, fire sprinkler work or incinerator construction. Depending on the type of work you will be doing, the proper licensing must be applied.

Contracting without a license in Louisiana generally has three types of consequences:

1. Criminal Penalties

It is a misdemeanor crime to do contracting without a license in Louisiana.

2. Contract Enforcement

Contracts in Louisiana made with an unlicensed contractor can be null and void (you will have no remedies) or the contractor will have very limited remedies even if the work was done properly.

3. Civil Penalties

The Louisiana Board of Contractors enforces licensing regulations and has the power to stop a project as well as fine the unlicensed contractor up to 3% of the contract price.

Smiley Law Group’s experienced construction law attorneys know the licensing requirements in Louisiana inside and out. We can walk you through the process of obtaining the right licenses, and even represent you if you are summoned before the Louisiana State Board.

If your license or construction project is at risk then do not try to fight the licensing board alone. Contact the Smiley Law Group today for a free consultation, and one of our attorneys will be happen to discuss any of your contractor licensing issues.

The advice is priceless.Schedule Your Consultation Now
Share This